As a landlord, the process of evicting a tenant is never fun or welcomed. The eviction process in New Jersey is certainly no exception to this. According to data, there are many lease violations that allow the landlord to terminate the lease if certain issues are not corrected. There may be a time-frame of three to 30 days given for a tenant to remedy specific situations. Let’s explore how to evict non paying renters in New Jersey and other forms of recourse that a landlord can take to sell a home.
A Failure To Pay Rent
In New Jersey, if a tenant fails to pay rent in the time-frame given, then you as a landlord can legally evict the tenant. Perhaps failure to pay rent is the only “good and strong cause” that does not require one form of warning or notice to a tenant before action can begin. As you begin the eviction process in New Jersey, you want to review your lease terms. It may be a bit unreasonable to evict your tenant, before the grace period for rent payments has ended.
Destruction or Damage To Property
According to state law, the eviction process in New Jersey can begin, if you have proof that a tenant caused destruction or damage to your property. Maybe you as the landlord can provide photographic evidence of damage to your rental home. In New Jersey, you can legally proceed with an eviction if you have substantial evidence of grossly intentional damage or neglect to your property. This would all under good cause to begin the eviction process in New Jersey.
Perhaps you have a tenant who plays loud music or has an animal that continuously barks in the neighborhood. Both instances could be grounds for beginning the eviction process in New Jersey. Those loud noises may be considered disturbing the peace. Therefore, you may have grounds for eviction. The state of New Jersey does require that you furnish a Notice to Quit form to the tenant. Should the disorderly conduct continue three days after the tenant received the form, then you may begin eviction proceedings.
Failure To Pay Rent Increases
The tenant living in your property has an obligation to pay rent increases that are reasonable. Typically, this provision is used to evict a paying tenant who doesn’t want to leave the home. As long as you as the landlord provide proper notice and you have implemented a lawful rent increase, then the tenant must pay. Otherwise, you can begin the eviction process in New Jersey if the tenant has informed you that they refuse to leave the home.
Connect With Your New Jersey Home Buying Company
While there are other legal ways to begin the eviction process in New Jersey for problematic tenants, the New Jersey home buying company can assist. If you have successfully implemented the eviction process in New Jersey and now you’re left with a home that’s no longer livable due to damage, the New Jersey home buyers can buy that home, making you a cash offer in as little as 24 hours. You don’t have to feel strapped with a home that may cost more to fix than it’s worth. You can sell your home fast with the New Jersey home buying company.
For the home that you want to get rid of fast, the New Jersey home buying company is here to help. Paying for the services of an eviction attorney in New Jersey may have even left you feeling stressed and financially strapped. Contact your New Jersey home buying company and find out how you may be able to sell that damaged home that the previous tenants left you with.